Chamber Concerto

Chamber Concerto

Auckland Chamber Orchestra Presents

Price: Free

Sunday, 16 September 5pm


Auckland Chamber Orchestra presents music by Berg, Dvořák and Rossini

“Chamber Concerto”

SUNDAY September 16 @ 5pm

FREE ADMISSION!  see below for instructions to reserve seats. We recommend this concert for audience members aged 13 years and over.

Raye Freedman Arts Centre
corner of Gillies Ave and Silver Rd, Epsom, Auckland, NZ]

Easy and free parking! Great sight lines – intimate venue.

Peter Scholes conductor
Justine Cormack violin
Sarah Watkins piano

James Tennant cello
Evgeny Lanchtikov bass

  • Antonin Dvořák  Serenade Op.44
  • Gioachino Rossini Duet for Cello and Bass
  • Alban Berg Chamber Concerto

This is a concert of spectacular music with compositions from three contrasting composers. The Dvořák Serenade is excitingly virtuostic and full of sublime melancholy. The Rossini Duet crams an opera worth of tunes into a tiny piece as well as showcasing the soloists with string gymnastics. A cello and bass duet is a rare thing and it’s wonderful that Rossini made this charming piece for us to enjoy. The major work in the programme is the mighty Chamber Concerto by Alban Berg. It features two soloists: piano and violin. The work has a clean architecture with each soloist working alone with the orchestra, and together as a duo.


Click here for tickets ….


IMPORTANT – include your email address to get confirmation and e-tickets

You will receive a confirmation email. Seat numbers will be allocated 7 days before the concert.  If for any reason you can’t come please let us know. Our concerts are usually full so get in quick!

Please *forward* to your friends.

Also, a big thank you to all the people who have generously donated to the ACO. It is very helpful and ensures the ACO’s continued presentation of amazing music. Please go to the ACO support page if you can help us!

Please visit our website

[in case you missed it, click here for the review of August’s DREAM FRAGMENTS – music by John Elmsly]

[in case you missed it, click here for the review of July’s THE FRIVOLOUS CAKE – music by Helen Bowater]


For your listening pleasure the ACO has a YouTube Channel. Click here to visit and hear some of our performances.

Schubert “Death and the Maiden”
Rautavaara “Divertimento”
Richard Strauss “Metamorphosen”
Edvard Grieg “Elegiac Melodies”


Please subscribe to the channel









A big thank you to all our supporters …