Mozart, Hoadley and Taylor

Mozart, Hoadley and Taylor

Auckland Chamber Orchestra

Price: Free - bookings essential

Sunday, 25 November 5pm

Auckland Chamber Orchestra

presents music by Mozart, Hoadley and Taylor


SUNDAY November 25 @ 5pm

FREE ADMISSION!  see below for instructions to reserve seats. We recommend this concert for audience members aged 13 years and over.

Raye Freedman Arts Centre
[corner of Gillies Ave and Silver Rd, Epsom, Auckland, NZ]

Easy and free parking! Great sight lines – intimate venue.

Peter Scholes conductor/clarinet
Abigail Sperling flute

Ben Hoadley Turakirae for solo clarinet & orchestra [WORLD PREMIERE]
Alex Taylor Flute Concerto [WORLD PREMIERE]
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No.40 K.550

Here’s the last ACO concert for the year. Please join us for an evening of world premieres and an all-time favourite. Ben Hoadley’s “Turakirae” is an evocative and sometimes nostalgic impression of the dramatic landscape and surroundings at Turakirae. Alex Taylor’s Flute Concerto is a spectacular display of dazzling flute colours and orchestra with exotic percussion, harp and piano elegantly mixed into string and woodwind textures. And to conclude we perform Mozart’s enchanting Symphony No. 40. If only he had lived as long as Haydn – imagine what Mozart’s Symphony No. 101 would have been like!

Flute Soloist Abigail Sperling

Flautist Abigail Sperling (DMA) is a performing artist, pedagogue, and clinician based in Oregon, USA. She received her doctorate in 2016 from the University of Auckland in New Zealand, studying with Professor Uwe Grodd. and is currently a well-known as a performer of contemporary music – particularly that by New Zealand composers. Abigail teaches flute at Linfield College and Chemeketa Community College and features regularly as a recitalist in Oregon.

This concerto was made possible thanks to generous funding from Creative New Zealand (2016).


Click here for tickets ….


IMPORTANT – include your email address to get confirmation and e-tickets

You will receive a confirmation email. Seat numbers will be allocated 7 days before the concert.  If for any reason you can’t come please let us know. Our concerts are usually full so get in quick!

Please *forward* to your friends.

Also, a big thank you to all the people who have generously donated to the ACO. It is very helpful and ensures the ACO’s continued presentation of amazing music. Please go to the ACO support page if you can help us!

Please visit our website

[in case you missed it, click here for the review of August’s DREAM FRAGMENTS – music by John Elmsly]

[in case you missed it, click here for the review of July’s THE FRIVOLOUS CAKE – music by Helen Bowater]


For your listening pleasure the ACO has a YouTube Channel. Click here to visit and hear some of our performances.

Schubert “Death and the Maiden”
Rautavaara “Divertimento”
Richard Strauss “Metamorphosen”
Edvard Grieg “Elegiac Melodies”


Please subscribe to the channel









A big thank you to all our supporters …