Matariki 2017 at the Raye Freedman Arts Centre

Matariki 2017

Auckland Chamber Orchestra


Sunday, 2 July 17:00 pm


Auckland Chamber Orchestra

see below for ticket reservation .........

ACO MATARIKI - The Music of Dame Gillian Karawe Whitehead


FREE ADMISSION!  see below for instructions to reserve seats. We recommend this concert for audience members aged 13 years and over.

Sunday July 2 @ 5pm


Peter Scholes Musical Director conductor & clarinet

  • Matariki for voice
  • Quintet for winds and piano
  • Mata-au for solo clarinet
  • At Night the Garden was Full of Voices (for recorders)
  • Nga Ha o Nehera for solo bassoon
  • Manutaki for flute, violin, viola, cello and piano

Welcome to the Auckland Chamber Orchestra 2017 Matariki concert. We are thrilled to be part of this exciting festival. In this concert we present a programme of music by Gillian Whitehead, one of New Zealand's most celebrated composers.

Gillian is three-times winner of the APRA/SOUNZ composition competition. In 1999 she was awarded the MNZM for services to music, in 2000 she was honoured by the Arts Foundation of New Zealand for artistic achievement as one of their five inaugural Laureates, and in 2003 she was given a DMus (honoris causa) by Victoria University of Wellington. From 2000-2001 she was composer-in-residence with the Auckland Philharmonia, and for a year in 2005-6 she was the CNZ/NZSM composer-in-residence, living in the Lilburn House in Wellington.

Her music has been widely performed and broadcast both nationally and internationally, and numerous pieces have been have been published or released on disc. Her output includes operas and monodramas, works for orchestra and other large ensembles as well as numerous chamber, choral, instrumental and solo works.

Musical Director Peter Scholes recently worked with Gillian Whitehead on the restaging of Jack Body's PASSIO in the Auckland International Arts Festival this year.

This concert features the talents of many fine musicians.

Claire Scholes mezzo sporano
Ben Hoadley bassoon
Andrew Uren clarinet
Anna Cooper flute
Sung-Soo Hong horn
Alison Jepson oboe
Emma Sayers piano
Kevin Kim recorder
Paul Mitchell cello
Greg McGarity viola
Peau Halapua violin


This concert is FREE ADMISSION

Seat allocations can be reserved in advance, with the remainder being allocated on the night on a first-come basis.

If you wish to reserve seats, please click here .....

IMPORTANT - include your email address to get confirmation and e-tickets

You will receive a confirmation email. Seat numbers will be allocated 7 days before the concert.  If for any reason you can't come please let us know. All concerts so far this year have been "sold" out so get in quick!

Please *forward* to your friends.

Also, a big thank you to all the people who have generously donated to the ACO. It is very helpful and ensures the ACO's continued presentation of amazing music. Please go to the ACO support page if you can help us!

Please visit our website